Tides of Tadoussac.com Marées de Tadoussac
Search Results
277 results found with an empty search
- Tadoussac Ferry Historique Photos
Tadoussac Ferry Photos since the late 1800's / Traversiers sur le Saguenay depuis plus de 100 ans The Ferries - Des Traversiers Tadoussac < > Baie Sainte Catherine In the early 1900's the Price Tugboats "Muriel" and the "Mahone" carried passangers between Riviere du Loup, Baie Sainte Catherine, and Tadoussac, and other places. Au début des années 1900, les remorqueurs "Muriel" et le "Mahone" de l'entreprise Price ont transporté des passangers entre Riviere du Loup, Baie Ste Catherine et Tadoussac, et d'autres endroits. MURIEL Many of these photos are from the Facebook Page "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" (Fans of Ferries in Quebec) Thanks to all the contributors! Amateurs de Traversiers au Quebec Plusieurs de ces photos proviennent de la page Facebook "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" Merci à tous les contributeurs! MAHONE L'équipage du "Mahone" Capitaine Johnny DesLauriers The "Mahone" at Anse à L'Eau, Tadoussac. The "Thor", one of the most powerful tugs of the Price Company, was used on the Saguenay for several years for the refueling of shipyards and the transportation of employees. In 1911, the Trans-Saint Laurent Ltee puts the Thor into operation, between Riviere-du-Loup and Tadoussac. Built in Lévis in 1881, this side-paddlewheel steamer is only used during the summer season and for Sunday excursions, it will be sold in 1916. The Thor at Anse à L'Eau, Tadoussac. THOR Le "Thor", l'un des plus puissants remorqueurs de la compagnie Price, a été utilisé pendant plusieurs années sur le Saguenay pour le ravitaillement en carburant des chantiers et le transport des employés. En 1911, le Trans-Saint Laurent Ltee met en service le Thor, entre Rivière-du-Loup et Tadoussac. Construit à Lévis en 1881, ce paquebot à roue à aubes latérale n’est utilisé que pendant la saison estivale et pour les excursions du dimanche, il sera vendu en 1916. Le Thor à l'Anse à l'Eau, Tadoussac. February 15, 1909 ICE BRIDGE The last cold of January contributed to form the ice bridge between Tadoussac and Baie Ste Catherine. The first to venture there was M. Gabriel Boulianne of Tadoussac, on February 7th, M. Boulianne was accompanied by his two nephews. ÉMÉRILLON 1920's Ferry? No photos PIXIE B These boats travelled between the wharves in Baie Ste Catherine and Tadoussac when the road from Quebec City was still a dangerously twisted unpaved road, and most people traveled to Tadoussac by ship. The "Pixie B" Painting by Frank Morewood, about 1930. The goelette at the wharf in Tadoussac is the Pixie B and it towed the barge which could carry two cars. Wreck of the Pixie B. It finished its career next to the Bar Orace in Ile aux Coudres early 80's photo Éric Desbiens And the Pixie B in the Drydock in the 1940's with the "Noroûa" La "Pixie B" Painting par Frank Morewood, circa 1930. La goélette au quai de Tadoussac est le Pixie B et remorquer le chaland qui pourrait transporter deux voitures. Épave du Pixie B. Il finit sa carrière à coté du bar Chez Orace à l'Ile aux Coudres au début 80 photo Éric Desbiens Ces bateaux circulaient entre les quais de Baie Sainte-Catherine et Tadoussac lorsque la route de Québec était encore une route non pavée dangereusement sinueuse, et la plupart des gens se rendaient à Tadoussac en bateau. Et le Pixie B en cale sèche dans les années 40 avec le « Noroûa » N.B.T. The "N.B.T." (Noel Brisson Transport) Built by Armand Imbeau in 1939?, 75' long, carried up to six cars on deck. Note the gap in the far gunwale for the cars, and the two ramps on deck. Le "N.B.T." (Noel Brisson Transport) Construit par Armand Imbeau en 1939?, 75' long, porté jusqu'à six voitures. Notez l'écart de l'autre côté pour les voitures, et les deux rampes sur le pont. Text describing the Tadoussac-Baie Ste Catherine crossing in the late 30's in the biography of Jean-Louis Gendron, former NCB Bank employee. On another trip, there was a storm. We had been waiting for three days in Tadoussac for a schooner that was making the crossing from Tadoussac to Baie Ste-Catherine. The docks of these two municipalities were covered with a layer of ice more than a foot thick. The postilion and I had crossed the Saguenay River from Tadoussac to Baie Ste-Catherine in a gasoline-powered boat through the ice. The tide being low, we were able to get on the wharf at Baie Ste-Catherine by means of a small cable attached to it by a coachman whom we had hired by telephone from Tadoussac! || It was hard to travel and work under such conditions in those days, but fortunately working conditions have improved considerably since then. Texte décrivant le passage frontalier Tadoussac-Baie Ste Catherine à la fin des années 30 dans la biographie de Jean-Louis Gendron, ancien employé de NCB Bank. Lors d'un autre voyage, il y avait eu tempête. Nous attendions depuis trois jours à Tadoussac une goélette qui faisait la traversée de Tadoussac à Baie Ste-Catherine. Les quais de ces deux municipalités étaient recouverts d'une couche de glace de plus d'un pied. Le postillon et moi avions traversé la rivière Saguenay, de Tadoussac à Baie Ste-Catherine, en chaloupe à gazoline, à travers les glaces. La marée étant basse, nous avons pu monter sur le quai, à Baie Ste-Catherine, au moyen d'un petit câble attaché à ce dernier par un cocher que nous avions engagé par téléphone de Tadoussac! || était pénible de voyager et de travailler dans de telles conditions en ce temps-là, mais heureusement les conditions de travail se sont sensiblement améliorées depuis ce temps. JACQUES CARTIER Au quai d'Anse à l'Eau, Tadoussac . The "Jacques Cartier" The first real car ferry, until 1958, carried 12 cars. Le "Jacques Cartier" Le premier vrai ferry, jusqu'en 1958, place pour 12 voitures Le Jacques Cartier et un bateau CSL Baie Ste Catherine Circa 1952 Une belle photo de Jack Molson At right, the Morewood family, Bill, Betty (my mother) and their mother Carrie (Rhodes) Morewood. Vehicles are getting bigger in the 1950's! Larger ferries are coming soon. Both trucks are PUIZE TRANSPORT. Les véhicules grossissent dans les années 50! Des ferries plus importants arrivent bientôt. Les deux camions sont PUIZE TRANSPORT August 1950, the CSL Quebec burned at the wharf, and the Jacques Cartier came over to help. En août 1950, la CSL Québec a brûlé au quai et la Jacques Cartier est venue aider. What happened to the Jacques Cartier after 1958? Some where on the St Lawrence, not sure of the dates. These photos are NOT in Tadoussac! Qu'est-il arrivé au Jacques Cartier après 1958 ? Somewhere on the St Lawrence, not sure of dates. Ces photos ne sont PAS à Tadoussac! SORELOIS THE SORELOIS: Steel ferry built in 1899 in Montreal, and used along with Jacques Cartier between Baie-Sainte-Catherine and Tadoussac. LE SORELOIS: Traversier en acier construit en 1899 à Montréal et utilisé avec Jacques Cartier entre Baie-Sainte-Catherine et Tadoussac. Many of these photos are from the Facebook Page "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" (Fans of Ferries in Quebec) Thanks to all the contributors! Amateurs de Traversiers au Quebec Plusieurs de ces photos proviennent de la page Facebook "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" Merci à tous les contributeurs! SAGUENAY and CHARLEVOIX The "Saguenay" 21 cars and the "Charlevoix" 27 cars. 1958 to 1980 La "Saguenay" 21 voitures and la "Charlevoix" 27 voitures. 1958 à 1980 1962 on the ferry in winter My mother Betty Evans admiring the ice on the anchor winch. My brother Lewis Evans in the ski mask (it was cold!) 1962 sur le ferry en hiver Ma mère Betty Evans admirant la glace sur le treuil d'ancre. Mon frère Lewis Evans dans le masque de ski (il faisait froid!) 1964 The Royal Yacht "Brittania" escorted by the destroyer "HMCS Restigouche" 1964 Le yacht royal "Britannia" escorté par le destroyer "NCSM Restigouche" 1960's The ferry trying to pull the "St Lawrence" off the sandbar (see the SHIPWRECKS page) 1960's One of many construction projects on the ferry wharf at Anse à L'Eau 1960 Le ferry en essayant de tirer le "Saint-Laurent" hors du banc de sable (Voir la page SHIPWRECKS) 1960 Un des nombreux projets de construction sur le quai du traversier à Anse à L'Eau circa 1975 Forest Fire on La Boule The other ferry is probably the "Pierre de Saurel" in service from 1974 circa 1975 Feu de forêt sur La Boule L'autre traversier est probablement la "Pierre de Saurel" en service à partir de 1974 circa 1972 We used to "see people off" saying goodbye to Tadoussac at the end of the summer at the ferry wharf, probably the McCarters. Evan Ballantyne, Guy and Jean Smith, Susie Scott (Bruemmer), David Younger, Trevor Williams , Steven Webster, (Belle Ballantyne (Corrigan), David Williams (kneeling), Jennifer Williams, Cinny Price and her pet duck (who has a pet duck?), Alan Evans, Gwen Skutezky, Enid (Price) Williams, Sally Williams, Mary Fowler, Penny Younger circa 1972 Nous dirions adieu aux personnes qui quittent Tadoussac à la fin de l'été au quai du traversier Wait! That's not the right way! Where are you going? Attendez! Tu ne vas pas dans le bon sens! Où allez-vous? Sketch of the proposed bridge across the Saguenay It would be the 10th longest span in the world and the largest in the western hemisphere. The latest study locates the bridge at La Boule, 8 km up the Saguenay, unlike these images. Croquis du pont proposé pour traverser le Saguenay Ce serait la 10e plus longue dans le monde et le plus grand de l'hémisphère occidental La dernière étude situe le pont à La Boule, à 8 km du Saguenay, contrairement à ces images. MV Armand-Imbeau (capacity 367 passengers and 75 vehicles) MV Jos-Deschênes (capacity 367 passengers and 75 vehicles) MV Félix-Antoine-Savard (capacity 376 passengers and 70 vehicles) 2016 New Ferries are scheduled to arrive! 2016 Nouveaux Ferries devraient arriver! Many of these photos are from the Facebook Page "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" (Fans of Ferries in Quebec) Thanks to all the contributors! Amateurs de Traversiers au Quebec Plusieurs de ces photos proviennent de la page Facebook "Amateurs de Traversiers au Québec" Merci à tous les contributeurs! 88
- Canoes,Punts,Rowboats | tidesoftadoussac1
Canoes, Punts, Rowboats Canots, Punts, Chaloupes Birchbark Canoe 1910 Canot d'écorce 1910 Godfrey, Lily, and Catherine Rhodes Plage Tadoussac Beach 1901 Godfrey Rhodes, Minnie (Rhodes) Morewood, Dorothy (Dorsh) Rhodes (Evans), ?, Billy Morewood, Carrie Rhodes (Morewood) 1901 Nancy Morewood, Catherine Rhodes (Tudor-Hart), Frank E Morewood K Ewart holding on tight K Ewart tenant serré Dean Lewis Evans et Marjorique pêchent près du Lark Reef 1910 Dean Lewis Evans and Marjorique fishing near Lark Reef, 1910 1900's The "WHITE BOAT" circa 1910 at the Marguerite Dressed all in white and pulling the boat to the shore of the Saguenay, 1917 Tout de blanc vêtu et en tirant le bateau à la rive de la rivière Saguenay, 1917 Nan (Rhodes) and Lennox Williams Lily and Frances Rhodes Mary Williams (Wallace) in the "White Boat" Pte a la Croix 1910's Lennox Williams Sydney Williams Adele Languedoc Mary Williams (Wallace) ? Lily Rhodes Nan (Rhodes) Williams Marjorie Gagnon helped my father, Lewis Evans with his model of a Lower St Lawrence Yawl, about 1918. In 1951 Lewis Evans bought a very old yawl and restored it, the "Bonne Chance" shown at right in a painting by Tom Roberts. Majorque Gagnon a aidé mon père, Lewis Evans avec son modèle d'un Yole Bas-St Laurent , vers 1918. En 1951, Lewis Evans a acheté un yole très vieux et le restaura, le "Bonne Chance" illustré à droite dans un tableau de Tom Roberts. 1920's "Explorer" Jean Alexander (Aylan-Parker) and Jim Alexander Lewis Evans & Harry Dawson Baude River above the dam Bill Morewood, ?, Jack Wallace 1930's Bill and Frank E Morewood Ainslie Evans (Stephen) Betty Morewood (Evans) Phoebe Evans (Skutezky) Robin and Doris Molson Jack, Verity and Robin Molson 1930's Susan Williams (Webster), ?, Joan Williams (Ballantyne), Jim Williams, ?? Joan Williams (Ballantyne), ?? Harry Morewood, Jimmy Williams, Simon Wallace (friend), Joan Williams (Ballantyne), Frank Morewood, Susan Williams (Webster), Jennifer and Delia Tudor-Hart, Bobby Morewood Sheila Williams (Campbell), Penny Smith (Younger) 1942 Jimmy Williams, Susan Williams (Webster) 1942 Alan Findley, Betty, Anne and Lewis Evans, and dog Smitty in the punt! No Life Jackets 1950 Alan Findley, Betty, Anne and Lewis Evans, et le chien Smitty dans le punt! Pas de gilets de sauvetage 1950 Jim and Ted Aylan-Parker Jean (Alexander) Aylan-Parker 1955 ? & Willie Leggatt 1964 44
- TidesofTadoussac.com | Historic Photographs | Tadoussac, QC, Canada
Historic photographs of Tadoussac Quebec in the 1800's and 1900's. A rich history of a beautiful place. TidesofTadoussac.com TABLE DES MATIÈRES & DATES importantes en bas de cette page search! cherchez! TABLE OF CONTENTS & Key DATES at the bottom of this page DATES TADOUSSAC the oldest photos Maps & Images Hudson's Bay Station Anse à L'Eau Buildings Disappeared Main Street Rue Principale Golf View from High Up Drydock - La Cale Sèche Molson Museum Horses, Buggies and Cars The Dunes Shipwrecks The Old Wooden Wharf Yawls & Small Boats BOATS & SHIPS Canoes,Punts,Rowboats Ferries Ma rina Goelettes Dallaire's Boat Rivière SAGUENAY River Geology Moulins du Saguenay Saguenay Mills Cap a Jack Anchorages Lark Reef, La Toupie Endroits Intéressants 1930's 1950's High Tide Club Charlevoix Crater Houses/Maisons à Tadoussac et Québec Benmore, Quebec Rhodes Cottage Spruce Cliff Radford Fletcher Lilybell Rhodes ART Paintings by Tom Evans RHODES FAMILY Rhodes - Family Tree William Rhodes&Ann Smith William Rhodes & Anne Dunn Uncle James Rhodes Armitage Rhodes Godfrey Rhodes William Rhodes Jim Williams Rhodes Grandchildren EVANS FAMILY Francis Evans EVANS Dean Lewis Evans & May & Emily Bethune Betty and Lewis Evans RUSSELL William Russell & Fanny Eliza Pope CONTACT PAGE At the confluence of the St. Lawrence and Saguenay rivers, Tadoussac and its surrounding area were a meeting place and a crossroads for trade between First Nations people that have been here for 8000 years. These two major waterways enabled European explorers and traders to enter into the continent. Natives traded with Basques whalers and Breton cod fishermen as early as the 14th Century. As he was sailing up the St. Lawrence in 1535, Jacques Cartier was taken aback by the sheer beauty of the area and dropped anchor in the bay to visit. Pierre de Chauvin built a fur-trading post in 1600, the first building in New France. In May of 1603, Samuel de Champlain sealed an alliance between the French and the First Nations near Tadoussac. It was a commercial, military and foundational agreement that would lead to the establishment of Québec City five years later. After having lived off the fur trade, fishing and whaling, and then the forest industry, in 1864 the village built its first hotel to accommodate summer vacationers. Since then, tourism has been the pillar of local and regional socioeconomic life. Please email me more DATES to add to this list 1535 Jacques Cartier discovers the Saguenay Fjord 1600 Construction of a house and establishment of a fur trading post by Pierre de Chauvin 1647&1747 Chapel built 1838 Price Sawmill built 1848 Price Sawmill closed 1859 Hudson's Bay Post closed 1860 Brynhyfryd built 1861 Spruce Cliff built 1861 Molson Beattie house built 1862 Tadalac built 1864 Tadoussac Hotel built 1864 Powel/Bailey House built 1864 Cid's built 1865 Price Row built 1867 Protestant Chapel built 1869 A rudimentary road links Les Escoumins to Tadoussac 1870 Hudson's Bay Post Demolished 1873 (Spring) The Governor General of Canada, the Marquis Dufferin, builds his summer residence in Tadoussac. 1874 Establishment of a salmon fish farm by Samuel Wilmot in the former facilities of William Price at Anse-à-l'Eau. 1885-9 Église de la Sainte-Croix built 1899-1901 Tadoussac Hotel expansion 1912? Wharf built 1914 Piddington built Ivanhoe 1923 Bourgouin & Dumont Fire 1927 A ferry between Baie-Sainte-Catherine and Tadoussac is in service year round 1927 CSL St Lawrence Launched 1928 CSL Tadoussac and Quebec launched 1931 Destruction by fire of Radford House 1932 Destruction by fire of Brynhyfryd, rebuilt the same yea 1932 Maison Molson/Beattie or Noel Brisson built (Moulin Baude) 1936 Windward built 1942 New Hotel Tadoussac built 1942 Maison Chauvin reconstruction 1942 Power Station at Moulin Baude built 1946 Destruction by fire of Église de la Sainte-Croix 1948 Turcot House built 1950 Destruction by fire of the CSL Quebec at the wharf 1966 End of CSL boats 1986 Webster house built À la confluence du Saint-Laurent et de la rivière du Saguenay. Tadoussac et ses proches environs constituaient un lieu de rassemblement et un carrefour d’échanges entre Premières Nations, présentes sur le territoire depuis 8 000 ans. Ces cours d’eau majeurs ont permis aux explorateurs et aux commerçants venus d’Europe de pénétrer le continent. Dès le XIVe siècle, les autochtones ont commercé avec les chasseurs basques de baleines et les pêcheurs bretons de morue. En 1535, alors qu’il remonte le Saint-Laurent, Jacques Cartier est saisi par sa beauté du site et jette l'ancre dans la baie pour le visiter. Pierre de Chauvin y construit un poste de traite de fourrures en 1600, le premier bâtiment de la Nouvelle-France. En mai 1603, Samuel de Champlain scelle tout près de Tadoussac une alliance entre les Français et les peuples autochtones. Il s’agit d’une entente commerciale, militaire et d’établissement qui ouvre la voie à la fondation de Québec cinq ans plus tard. Après avoir vécu du commerce des fourrures, de la pêche et de la chasse à la baleine, puis de l’industrie forestière, c’est en 1864 que le village construit le premier hôtel pour accueillir les villégiateurs estivaux. Depuis, le tourisme constitue un pilier de la vie socioéconomique locale et régionale. S'il vous plaît écrivez-moi plus de DATES à ajouter à cette liste 1535 Jacques Cartier découvre le fjord du Saguenay 1600 Construction d'une maison et établissement d'un poste de traite des fourrures par Pierre de Chauvin 1647&1747 Chapelle construite 1838 Scierie Price construite 1848 Prix Scierie fermée 1859 Fermeture du poste de la Baie d'Hudson 1860 Brynhyfryd construit 1861 Spruce Cliff construite 1861 Maison Molson Beattie construite 1862 Tadalac construit 1864 Tadoussac Hôtel construit 1864 Construction de la maison Powel/Bailey 1864 Cid construit 1865 Price Row construit 1867 Chapelle protestante construite 1869 Une route rudimentaire relie Les Escoumins à Tadoussac 1870 Poste de la Baie d'Hudson démoli 1873 (printemps) Le gouverneur général du Canada, le marquis Dufferin, construit sa résidence d'été à Tadoussac. 1874 Établissement d'une pisciculture de saumon par Samuel Wilmot dans les anciennes installations de William Price à Anse-à-l'Eau. 1885-9 Église de la Sainte-Croix construite 1899-1901 Agrandissement de l'hôtel Tadoussac 1912 ? Quai construite 1914 Piddington construit Ivanhoe 1923 Destruction par le feu Bourgouin & Dumont 1927 Un traversier entre Baie-Sainte-Catherine et Tadoussac est en service à l'année 1927 CSL St Lawrence lancé 1928 CSL Tadoussac and Quebec lancé 1931 Destruction par le feu de Radford House 1932 Destruction par le feu de Brynhyfryd, reconstruit la même année 1932 Maison Molson/Beattie ou Noel Brisson built (Moulin Baude) 1936 Windward construit 1942 Nouvel Hôtel Tadoussac construit 1942 Reconstruction de la Maison Chauvin 1942 Construction de la centrale électrique du Moulin Baude 1946 Destruction par le feu de l'église de la Sainte-Croix 1948 Maison Turcot construite 1950 Destruction par le feu du CSL Québec au quai 1966 Fin des bateaux CSL 1986 Construction de la maison Webster DATES 50
- Smith, Robert Guy Carington, Isobel (Price) & Jean (McCaig)
Guy lived all over the world working in the Canadian Diplomatic Corps Smith, Robert Guy Carington, Isobel (Price) & Jean (McCaig) Guy lived all over the world working in the Canadian Diplomatic Corps Back to ALL Bios Robert Guy Carington Smith 1908 - 2006 Constance Isobel (Price) Smith 1908 – 1944 Jean Alexandra (McCaig) Smith 1903 - 1988 Known to most in Tadoussac as either Poppa or Uncle Guy, Robert Guy Carington Smith was born in 1908, in Quebec City, to Robert Harcourt Smith and Mary Valliere (Gunn) Smith. He was the third of three sons. His older brothers were Alexander (Lex) and Gordon. They enjoyed a happy childhood growing up on Grande Allée in the English area of Quebec City. In 1911 Robert Harcourt Smith purchased Dufferin House in Tadoussac, Quebec as a summer home, from Henry Dale of Poughkeepsie, N.Y. After being ceded to all three boys, Guy bought out his brothers’ stake in the house, and Dufferin remained in the family for four consecutive generations. Like his brothers before him, Guy was educated at Bishop’s College School in Lennoxville, Quebec, and the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario, from which he graduated in 1929. Guy also attended McGill University for Economics from 1929 to 1930. After his time at McGill University, Guy entered the Department of Trade and Commerce as a Junior Trade Commissioner in 1930. “Iso” was born in 1908, in Quebec City to Henry Edward Price and Helen Muriel Gilmour. Her siblings included Helen Florence (1902), Enid Muriel (1904), Millicent Ruth (1906), William Gilmour (1910), James Cuthbert (1912), Sheila Hope (1914), Henry Edward (Ted) Clifford (1916), Llewellyn Evan (1919), and Barbara Joan (1921), all born in Quebec City. During her young life, Iso saw the passing of her younger sister Barbara Joan at the age of three in 1924, her brother Gilmour in 1940 at the age of thirty, and Evan in 1944 at the age of twenty-five. Despite this, or perhaps because of it, the family grew up close in the English section of Quebec City. At the age of twenty-three Isobel travelled alone to Buenos Aires, Argentina, where on April 27, 1932, she married Guy Smith who was stationed in the Canadian Diplomatic Service. They had three children during their marriage: Valliere Ann (1933) and Susan Pamela (1935) in Buenos Aires, and Penelope Joan (1939) in Rye, New York. In 1931 Guy was posted to Buenos Aires as the Assistant Trade Commissioner and then to New York in 1936. Guy was granted a leave of absence from 1940 to 1945 to join the Royal Canadian Artillery in the war effort. During his time of service, Guy was involved in a motorcycle accident that took him out of active service. At the time of his discharge, Guy had earned the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Sadly, Iso passed away at the age of thirty-six in 1944, in Ottawa, Ontario. Constance Isobel Smith is buried at the Mount Hermon Cemetery in Quebec City. Jean, Mumsie, Aunt Jean, Grannie was born in Quebec in 1903. Her parents were John and Evelyn McCaig. She had two sisters, Ruth, born in 1908, and Ester, and one brother, William John, born in 1911. The family moved to Edmonton, Alberta in 1911. Jean trained as a stenographer and early in her adult life, she developed a love of travel. During the 1920s and 1930s, she visited Vancouver, Honolulu, San Francisco, Berkeley, South Hampton, and Brazil and settled finally in New York in the early 1940s. She was working as a stenographer in the Canadian Consul General/Trade Commissioner’s office when she met Robert Guy Carington Smith. They were married on December 12, 1945. In 1946, Guy was appointed to Havana, Cuba, to continue his diplomatic and trade service. From there, Guy enjoyed a robust career as a Canadian diplomat travelling to posts in many different countries including Rome, London, Paris, Washington, Tokyo, the West Indies, and finally, back to New York where he was appointed as Consul General for Canada for the states of New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. For the next twenty years, Jean travelled to, and lived in all ofall these places and became a gracious hostess for Guy as he pursued his diplomatic career. Following his retirement, Guy and Jean moved to Brockville, Ontario where he remained highly involved in both civic and church duties. Always a dedicated subject of the Queen, Poppa faithfully corresponded using only Queen’s head stamps. After career and family, Poppa’s main love was Dufferin House in Tadoussac. Not a summer went by without Poppa spending it in Tadoussac tending the gardens and managing the property. For a while, a main fixture of the house was the old English taxi (“Gertrude”) that Poppa would drive around the streets of Tadoussac heading to church or a run to the local store. It was Tadoussac’s version of Jessica Tandy and Morgan Freeman from Driving Miss Daisy with Jean in the back waving to us all! Jean died in Brockville in 1988 and Guy in 2006, aged ninety-eight, and is buried at the Mount Hermon Cemetery in Quebec City near Jean and Isobel. Michael McCarter Back to ALL Bios
- Cap à Jack | tidesoftadoussac1
Tadoussac Historical Photos and Stories - History of Tadoussac Cap à Jack on the Saguenay River 1911-1935 Cap à Jack was a cabin built by Dean Lewis Evans in about 1911. He was a keen fisherman, and he could be closer to his favorite spots early in the morning and in the evening, when the fish are biting. There were many visitors and activities. A cabin to go to from the cottage in Tadoussac! Cap à Jack était une cabane construite par Dean Lewis Evans environ 1911. Il était un pêcheur passionné, et il pourrait être plus proche de ses endroits préférés tôt dans la matinée et en soirée, lorsque le poisson mord. Il y avait de nombreux visiteurs et activités. Une cabine pour aller partir du chalet à Tadoussac! Where was it? Cap à Jacques is the rocky point just below St Etienne, about 9 miles up the Saguenay from Tadoussac. Où était-il? Cap à Jacques est la pointe rocheuse juste en dessous de St Etienne, environ 9 miles de Tadoussac sur la rivière Saguenay. How did they get there? The "Minota" Emily and Lewis Evans and their son Lewis Evans, my father, about 1917 Comment sont-ils arrivés? Le «Minota" Emily et Lewis Evans et leur fils Lewis Evans, mon père, environ 1917 Coming ashore below the cabin in 1912, and today Venant à la rivage au-dessous de la cabine en 1912, et aujourd'hui The Bathing Pool is small natural pool with rocks at the entrance, only accessible by boat at high tide. Recently visited by 'Webbling'! Le bassin de baignade est petite bassin naturel avec des rochers à l'entrée, uniquement accessible par bateau à marée haute. récemment visitée par 'Webbling'! Emily (Bethune) Evans 1913 - some guests, and R Lewis Evans, age 2, and his father Dean Lewis Evans, age 67 Emily (Bethune) Evans and Dean Lewis Evans Lennox Williams, Sydney Williams, and Willie Rhodes, my mother's grandfather le grand-père de ma mère Tea at Cap à Jack, the Dean, and the other fellow is Hal Bethune R Lewis Evans and Cecily Larratt Smith Aunt Vera Bethune, Aunt Marion Bethune, Dad - Dean Lewis Evans, Marjorie Gagnon Emily (Bethune) Evans Dean Lewis Evans died in 1919 at the age of 74 Dean Lewis Evans est mort en 1919 à l'âge de 74 ans circa 1926, R Lewis Evans with his gun, May Carrington Smith, Nan Gale, Ann (Dewart) Stevenson, Maggie(Reilley) Smut the dog, Emily (Bethune) Evans, Kae Evans, the Stevenson sisters, Elizabeth (O'Neill) (note camera), Maggie (Reilley), Ann (Dewart), May Carrington Smith, Nan Gale The Stevenson sisters, Elizabeth (O'Neill), Ann (Dewart), Maggie (Reilley) Kae Evans Marjorique and Basil Evans with fishing gear Cap à Jack was dismantled in about 1935 Cap à Jack a été démantelé environ 1935 43
- Leggat, Stephanie Jane
A keen equestrian, Stephanie loved her family, her horses, her dogs, and her times in Tadoussac Leggat, Stephanie Jane A keen equestrian, Stephanie loved her family, her horses, her dogs, and her times in Tadoussac Back to ALL Bios Stephanie Jane Leggat - December 1, 1952 - December 24, 2008 Stephanie was born in Red Deer, Alberta. She was the daughter of Leonard and Anne Limpert. She was the youngest of three children; a sister, Elaine, and brother, Len Jr. Her father was a career member of the Canadian Air Force, and as a result she and her family lived in many towns across Canada. Stephanie's early years were spent in Penhold, Alberta and Comox on Vancouver Island. She settled for a while in Summerside, P.E.I. There she met friends she kept in touch with the rest of her life. The family moved to Halifax in 1962, where she attended Mount Saint Vincent Academy. She went to business school and then worked in developing child care programs. She eventually settled at the Royal Naval Dockyard in Halifax where she worked the remainder of her life as the executive assistant for the commander of the base. In 1971 she befriended Michael Leggat, a young travelling musician. Stephanie and Michael had a long-distance romance until 1973, when he moved to Halifax. They were married in June of 1976. In 1974, Stephanie spent her first summer in Tadoussac and loved it from the start. She never played tennis or golf but she could be found cheering her friends on. She also loved walking the beaches with her dogs, Sasser, Jane, Oliver and Livvie. Before having children, Stephanie's passion was for horses. She and her sister owned two and competed in many equestrian shows, winning countless ribbons. Each fall the two would attend the Royal Winter Fair in Toronto. They would stay all day and night watching the equestrian events, never tiring of it. She loved her many stays at White Point Beach Lodge and ski vacations at Sunday River. In 2006 Stephanie was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. She passed away on Christmas Eve, 2008. She was survived by her husband Michael, and son Alexander. She was predeceased by her two sons, Mathew and Robbie. She will always be remembered for her love of life and infectious smile. Back to ALL Bios
- Turcot, Peter Alfred
His love of Tadoussac started at a young age. At 21 he built the path to the beach, enjoyed canoeing, picnicking, golfing and supporting many community organizations. Turcot, Peter Alfred His love of Tadoussac started at a young age. At 21 he built the path to the beach, enjoyed canoeing, picnicking, golfing and supporting many community organizations. Back to ALL Bios Peter Alfred Turcot May 19, 1925 – October 29, 2018 Tadoussacer, path builder, golfer, tennis player and devoted supporter of the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel. Peter Turcot loved Tad with lots of family, cousins and the Tad Community. He started visiting Tad at an early age where he developed his love of picnics and canoeing. At 21, he spent the summer carving a path to the beach while supervising the Turcot house being built, he served his community on numerous committees and spent his last summer playing three rounds of golf a week at the age of 93. Much loved husband of Anne Dean Turcot and Son of Marjorie (Webb) and Percy Turcot of Quebec City. Dad was the caring father of Wendy (Brian Dourley), Peggy (Scott Robertson), Peter Dean, Chris (Christine McGinty) and Susan (Chris Wilbert). He was greatly blessed with ten grandchildren Trevor (Emily), Chris, Patrick (Ambe), Caroline (Brad), Timothy, William, Stephen, Nicole (Keynen), Meagan and Quinn … and five great grandchildren Aya, Seraphina, Caspian, Harrison and Camden. Peter had a strong Christian faith and was deeply devoted to his church and family. Spiritual, and universally respected, he found the best in everyone he met. He loved Sunday Tea, a cottage filled with too many family members and any excuse to bring everyone together. After McGill University his career in the financial community included positions with Turcot, Wood, Power and Cundill Ltd, Guardian Trust, and being Chairman of the Montreal Stock Exchange. He was a willing volunteer and supporter of many good causes. Photo at right Michael Wallace and Peter Turcot Photo below Elliot, Peter and John Turcot Back to ALL Bios
- Janes, Mary Francis Russell
After a very difficult start to life, Tadoussac was very likely a place to heal Janes, Mary Francis Russell After a very difficult start to life, Tadoussac was very likely a place to heal Back to ALL Bios Mary Frances Russell Janes 1864 - 1915 Mary Frances Russell Janes’ mother was born in Franklin, New Hampshire in 1836, the daughter of Willis Russell and Rebecca Page (Sanborn). In 1843, when she was seven, Mary’s family relocated to Quebec City where her father, Willis, entered the hotel business. In 1858, Mary married a Scotsman, William Duthie Baxter Janes and they moved to Montreal. Their first daughter, Mary Frances Russell Janes (1860) died within a week of her birth, and their second daughter, Elizabeth Anne Leavitte Janes (1861) died at the age of one. Erie Russell Janes (1863) was the third daughter. She survived and thrived, as did her younger sister who was given the same name as the first child, and is the subject of this biography, Mary Frances Russell Janes (1864). In Willis Russell’s biography, it was mentioned that a doctor recommended sea air for Willis’s ailing daughter. His friend William Rhodes encouraged him to join him in Tadoussac, a plan that led to the construction of Spruce Cliff in 1861. It seems clear that Mary was that ailing daughter and sadly, tragedy struck one more time. In the days following this fourth daughter’s birth, Willis’s daughter, Mary, weakened and died in Quebec at the age of twenty-eight. She was buried in the family plot at Mount Hermon Cemetery in Quebec. The two surviving children, Erie and Mary, went to live with their grandparents, Willis and Rebecca, who had built Spruce Cliff as a place for their daughter to heal. One can only hope that after being left with two babies and enduring three family deaths in five years, the cottage helped to heal the whole family. Erie eventually married George de Guerry Languedoc and built Amberley Cottage in Languedoc Park. Mary never married and she continued to come to Tadoussac every summer to Spruce Cliff, staying with her grandparents until they died in the late 1880s, and then with her Uncle William and his three children. An old family letter reveals that she lived for a time with her sister, Erie, and her husband, George Languedoc, in Ottawa. Mary died in 1915 at the age of fifty-one. In the chapel, both the baptismal font and a wall plaque are given in memory of her fifty years of summer residency in Tadoussac. Back to ALL Bios
- Smith, Edmund Harcourt Carington
Athletic and single Edmund enjoyed his summers in Tadoussac Smith, Edmund Harcourt Carington Athletic and single Edmund enjoyed his summers in Tadoussac Back to ALL Bios Edmund Harcourt Carington Smith 1874-1951 Edmund was born in Quebec City in 1874. He was the fifth son of Robert Herbert Smith and Amelia Jane LeMesurier Smith. He was a well-known banking figure who started his career at the Bank of Montreal in 1892. He was manager of several branches in Canada and England and ended his career in 1932 in charge of the Charlevoix and Centre Street branches of the bank in Quebec City. He was a member for many years of the Royal Montreal Curling Club and the Montreal Athletic Amateur Association. He spent many summers in Tadoussac and loved the beauty of the area and, as a bachelor, he enjoyed the closeness of his extended family. He died suddenly in Tadoussac on August 15, 1951, and is buried at Mount Hermon Cemetery in Quebec City. Eve Wickwire ~1894 the children George (1870), Herbert (1866) Robert Harcourt (1858), Amelia Blanche (1863, who married Sir William Price), Charles (1867) Arthur (1875), Edmund (1874) missing Edith (1862, who married Henry Baring Powel) Back to ALL Bios
- Languedoc, Erie (Janes) & George de Guerry
Erie was a third generation Russell who bought and developed Parc Languedoc Languedoc, Erie (Janes) & George de Guerry Erie was a third generation Russell who bought and developed Parc Languedoc Back to ALL Bios Erie Russell (Janes) 1863 - 1941 & George de Guerry Languedoc 1860 - 1924 Erie Russell Janes (b. 1863 in Montreal) was the daughter of Mary Frances Russell and her husband, William D. B. Janes. Soon after her birth, Erie’s mother died and she went to Quebec to live with her grandparents, Willis Russell, and his wife, Rebecca Page Sanborn. Willis Russell, her grandfather, was one of the first Quebec residents to build a summer home at Tadoussac and from her childhood until her death, Erie spent many summer months there each year. When Willis died in 1887, Erie sold out her share of the family house in Tad (Spruce Cliff) and built a house opposite the Roman Catholic Church called Russellhurst. In 1911 at age forty-eight, Erie married the widower, George de Guerry Languedoc who brought with him his daughter Adele. In his lifetime, George Languedoc was a civil engineer and architect, and for the first two years of their married life, they lived in Port Arthur, Ontario. Subsequently, they moved to Ottawa where Erie remained until her husband’s death in 1924 when she came to Montreal to live with her step-daughter, Adele Languedoc who was in charge of the McLennan Travelling Library at Macdonald College. She later sold Russellhurst in the Tadoussac village and bought what is now known as Languedoc Parc from Henry Dale, an American. She designed and built Amberley which is now (much renovated) the Gomer home. Dale also had a carriage road going down to Pointe Rouge. The circular “Fairy Circle” was its turnaround. During World War I, Erie organized a Red Cross Society branch at Aylmer, Quebec, and after the war, she was instrumental in setting up seven chapters of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (I.O.D.E., a Canadian national women’s charitable organization) in the Ottawa district. In 1940, just before her death, Erie organized a Red Cross branch in Tadoussac. She was a life member of both the Red Cross Society and the I.O.D.E. Erie did much to promote interest in, and the sale of, handicrafts indigenous to the Saguenay region and was an authority on the folklore of this district in Quebec. Recognition of the work she had done for Tadoussac came with her election to the honorary presidency of Le Cercle des Fermieres of Tadoussac which still exists today. Ann Stevenson Dewart relates memories of her first cousin, Erie. “In those days the Park was truly a private enclave, dominated by Cousin Erie Languedoc. No one passed her door without her scrutiny, and French and English alike walked in awe of her flashing, black eyes and outthrust jaw. ‘You, there, what's your name?’ she would ask, poking her crooked walking stick at the trespasser's stomach. If it was a French child, she would want to know his parents' names. She persuaded the Curé to declare the Park off-limits after dark for the village youths, as much to protect her rest as their morals. Only visitors were allowed to come in by the front gate opposite the Golf Club. Tradesmen and the solitary motorcar had to use the back entrance near Hovington's farm. If anyone came to our door after dark, uninvited, Mum would first get down the .22 rifle before calling out, ‘Who is it?’ Fortunately, she never had to use either it or the revolver. Cousin Erie, however, wasn't afraid of man or beast and often stayed alone in the park until the boats stopped running late in September. She and her walking stick were a match for anything, but Mum was more nervous. Erie gave her a big brass dinner bell to ring if she needed help. Erie had one even bigger. As the only two women alone in the park it was a kind of mutual aid pact in case of fire or illness.” Erie died in 1941 when Amberley then went to Adele and later, after Adele's death, was acquired by Adelaide Gomer. Brian Dewart (with excerpts from Ann Stevenson Dewart’s writings) Back to ALL Bios
- Russell, Willis & Rebecca Page (Sanborn)
First generation summer residents who built Spruce Cliff Cottage Russell, Willis & Rebecca Page (Sanborn) First generation summer residents who built Spruce Cliff Cottage Back to ALL Bios Willis Russell 1814-1887 & Rebecca Page (Sanborn) 1813-1889 Willis Russell came originally from Vermont where he had been associated with his brothers in the paper, pulp, and lumber business. Willis married Rebecca Page (Sanborn) who descended from a long line of early New England colonists. Rebecca’s great grandfather, Lieutenant John Sanborn, was born in Norfolk, England in about 1620 and emigrated to the colonies in 1632 with the Rev. Stephen Bachiler party on the ship William and Frances, settling in Hampton, New Hampshire, the town having been founded by Rev. Bachiler. Many generations later, Rebecca Page Sanborn was born in 1813 in Sanbornton, NH to John Sanborn and Dorcas Nelson. Not much is known about Rebecca herself other than she married Willis in Franklin, NH in 1835 and eight years later they relocated to Quebec City where she and Willis lived until 1887 when he died and she died a year later at age seventy-five. An interesting historical note: Rebecca was distantly related to Thomas Nelson Page, the US Ambassador to Italy during the First World War and a direct descendant of the Virginian, Thomas Nelson Jr., a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Willis and Rebecca had six children: Mary, William, Charles, Ellen, Arthur, and Agnes. Mary and William are the ones whose descendants have continued to come to Tadoussac. After being sent by his family to Quebec to investigate business opportunities there, Willis remained a resident of Quebec City throughout the rest of his life and found himself in the hotel business, owning the St. Louis, the Albion, and the Russell House (now the Clarendon). The missal stand on the chapel altar on which the prayer book rests is made from an oak beam taken from the St. Louis Hotel when it was demolished to make room for the Chateau Frontenac. When the doctor recommended sea air for Willis’s ailing daughter, his friend Colonel Rhodes of Quebec suggested they try Tadoussac. The two men bought lots beside each other in 1860 so they could continue the friendship of the two families. Rhodes built immediately and Russell the next year. His order to the builder was “build a house just like William Rhodes’s house.” Subsequently, the Ste. Marguerite Salmon Club was founded in 1885 by Willis Russell and Robert Powel of Philadelphia and the three men could adjourn to the Marguerite River for salmon fishing. The Salmon Club leased all the rights on the Marguerite River along which they built six cottages. One of these, known as Bardsville, still stands. A big promoter of Quebec tourism, Willis Russell wrote a book on the history of Quebec which can still be bought on Amazon (Quebec; as it was and as it is). Willis Russell was involved with the Tadoussac Hotel and Sea Bathing Company which opened the original hotel in 1864. He lived in Quebec City for forty-five uninterrupted years. He is buried in Mt. Hermon Cemetery. Susie (Scott) Bruemmer, Willis and Rebecca’s great-great-granddaughter, now owns the property known as Spruce Cliff near the Tadoussac Tennis Club. The Dewarts, Reilleys, and O’Neills who all spend time in the summer in Tad in their own cottages are also direct descendants of Willis and Rebecca Russell. Back to ALL Bios
- Glassco, William (Bill)
Theatre director and translator, Bill loved Tadoussac from childhood and shared it with theatre artists from around the world Glassco, William (Bill) Theatre director and translator, Bill loved Tadoussac from childhood and shared it with theatre artists from around the world Back to ALL Bios William Glassco (Bill) (August 30,1935 - September 13, 2004) Bill’s birth was recorded by his maternal grandmother, Lady Blanche Price, in the pencilled diary she wrote on her bedroom wall at Fletcher Cottage in Tadoussac. William was the youngest child of Willa (nee Price) and J. Grant and as he was born on the same day as his grandfather, Sir William Price, was named in his honour. Bill and his siblings, June, Dick and Gay were each born in Quebec City, raised in Toronto, and summered in Tadoussac. Together with a gaggle of cousins who would spend summer days in unlimited adventures, Bill formed a connection to Quebec and Tadoussac that ran throughout his life. Educated at Upper Canada College, Ridley College, Princeton University and as a Rhodes Scholar, Oxford, Bill was settling in for a stable career as a tenured English professor at the University of Toronto. Maybe it was the memory of Tadoussac dress-up boxes and the elaborate plays and musicals he produced, casting any available cousins and performing for dour aunts and exasperated nannies. Or how he cajoled all the neighbourhood kids to perform in his basement on Dunloe Road in Toronto’s Forest Hill, for parents and friends. But Bill took a leap of faith and abandoned his tenure in 1969 to move his young family to New York City for two years so that he could become a theatre director. Upon returning to Canada in 1971 he and his wife, Jane (nee Gordon) started the Tarragon Theatre, committed to developing the works of Canadian Playwrights, both French and English. He nurtured and produced many of Canada’s foremost playwrights, David Freeman, David French, Judith Thompson, James Reaney, and, with John Van Burek, translated many of the plays of Michel Tremblay. Michel-Marc Bouchard was a life-long friend and he both translated and directed many of Michel-Marc’s plays. He also formed what is now CanStage in Toronto in 1988. In 1990 he moved to Quebec City to further his freelance career in French Canada and then to Montreal where he founded the Montreal Young Company in 1999. When his marriage dissolved in 1976, Bill brought his three children to Tadoussac for the first time. They stayed in the hotel and Bill set his eye on his grandmother’s house, Fletcher Cottage, which was owned by two distant cousins who were tiring of maintaining such a huge property. By the next summer Billy owned the house and was a Tadoussac boy once more. He used the large house facing the bay as the ultimate salon, inviting people all year to come and stay for a week in the summer. He would entertain family, theatre artists, and old university friends from across the globe. Dinners of 25 were not uncommon and luckily the house could stretch to fit most of them. There would be morning swims across the lake, outings to Bon-Desir, hikes up the fiord and jam-making sessions that would last days. He was a gifted pianist, a master of the American Musical Songbook, and evenings were full of music and singing. The chapel will remember Bill for his consummate organ playing. He loved the formal traditions of Tadoussac and the unique social spiritual mix that happened on Sunday mornings at 10:30. At 6 foot 4 inches he was a total gentleman with a passion for theatre and Quebec and a terrific sense of fun. Bill died of thyroid cancer at his daughter’s home after one last summer in Tadoussac in 2004. Fletcher Cottage carries on Bill’s traditions through his children and grandchildren: Daniel and Karen and their son, Tyler; Briony and Clive and their children, Max, Zoe, and Kyra; Rufus and Dinora and their two boys, Sebastian and Benjamin. In 1998, Bill started the Tadoussac Playwrights Residence, which his family have carried on to this day in Bill’s honour. Now called the Glassco Translation Residency in Tadoussac, 4 pairs of playwrights and translators are invited to work together at Fletcher Cottage for 10 days each June under the mentorship of award-winning translator, Maryse Warda. This nationally recognised program, run in collaboration with Playwrights Workshop Montreal has introduced many playwrights and translators to Tadoussac and to Quebec and allowed them to flourish and write in this special place producing plays that would make Bill proud. Briony Glassco Back to ALL Bios