top of page

Search Results

277 results found with an empty search

  • Evans, Trevor Ainslie & Dorothy (Rhodes)

    Trevor and Dorothy bought Ivanhoe Cottage which has served five generations to date Evans, Trevor Ainslie & Dorothy (Rhodes) Trevor and Dorothy bought Ivanhoe Cottage which has served five generations to date Back to ALL Bios Trevor Ainslie Evans 1879-1939 & Dorothy Gwendolyn Esther (Rhodes) 1892-1977 Trevor Ainslie Evans was born in Montreal in 1879, the son of the Very Reverend Thomas Lewis Frye Evans, Dean of Montreal, and Maye Stewart Bethune. He married Dorothy Gwendolyn Esther Rhodes, the eldest daughter of Armitage Rhodes in Quebec City after World War I. As a boy, Trevor spent the summers in Tadoussac as his father conducted Sunday services at the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel. He stayed in the house currently owned by the Beattie family. Trevor attended the High School of Montreal located on University Street and he initially served with the Royal Victoria Rifles which, at the beginning of World War I, amalgamated with several other Companies and Militia Regiments as the First Royal Montreal Regiment. He went overseas and saw action at the Somme where he was twice wounded. Trevor recovered from his injuries at ‘Broadlands’ in England an estate owned by his aunt and uncle, Edward and Stretta Price. Dorothy Rhodes was born in 1892, in Quebec City. Dorothy was the daughter of Armitage Rhodes of Benmore, Bergerville in Quebec City and Phoebe Allman. Dorothy spent her summers in Tadoussac with her family. She was ‘home schooled’ and then attended local schools before going to Miss Porter’s School in Farmington, Connecticut, and then King’s Hall in Compton, Quebec. Dorothy served with the Canadian Expeditionary Force as a nursing sister during World War I. In 1921 Dorothy and Trevor purchased Ivanhoe from the Royal Trust Company and the executors of the Estate of the late Alfred Piddington of Quebec City. Trevor established an insurance agency for the North American Insurance Company on St. Sacrement Street in Old Montreal. He was a member of the St. James’s Club in a building that was demolished to make way for the building of Place Ville Marie. During his summers in Tadoussac, he played golf (left-handed) with his hickory shafted golf clubs. He regularly fished the last hour of the rising tide and the first hour of the falling tide. He also dabbled in watercolour painting and in writing poetry. Their children, born between 1921 and 1925, were Phoebe Maye (Evans) Skutezky, Dorothy Ainslie (Evans) Stephen, Trevor Lewis Armitage Evans, and Rhodes Bethune (Tim) Evans. During her summers Dorothy managed her children and their many friends. When they had their own families, she welcomed her grandchildren and presented them with a list of chores and responsibilities. It was not uncommon for there to be twenty people for dinner. Michael Skutezky Photos above Dorothy and Trevor with Phoebe and Ainslie Dorothy with Phoebe and Ainslie Ivanhoe Dorothy with Phoebe Dean Lewis Evans (sitting), his first wife Marie, his 4 children Basil, Trevor (with pipe), Muriel and Ruby Dorothy and Trevor with Phoebe, Ainslie, Trevor and Tim, and Katie Von Iffland (Dorothy's step mother) Back to ALL Bios

  • Stairs, Dennis & Sue

    Very athletic, Dennis and Sue loved to be outdoors with their many children Stairs, Dennis & Sue Very athletic, Dennis and Sue loved to be outdoors with their many children Back to ALL Bios Dennis W. Stairs 1923-1975 & Susan E. (Inglis) Stairs 1923-1978 Dennis was born and grew up in Montreal. After attending Bishop’s College School, he joined the Royal Navy and served on the British aircraft carrier Indefatigable as an airplane navigator. He started coming to Tadoussac at an early age, and in his teens went on trips to Les Escoumins and the Marguerite in nor’shore canoes with his brothers and his cousin Peter Turcot - twenty miles rowing is a long way! He was a tennis and skiing enthusiast and was on the McGill University teams for both sports. He graduated from McGill with honours in engineering and took a position with what was then the Price Brothers Company in Kenogami. He married twice having four children by his first marriage and three by his second. Sue Inglis was born and grew up in Pittenweem, Scotland. She moved to London during the war and served in an anti-aircraft unit defending the city. She married Dennis Stairs in 1957 and together they had three children, Alan, John, and Sarah to add to Dennis’s previous four, Judy, George, Felicite, and Philippa, and she treated all seven with the same mixture of poise, no-nonsense strength, and kindness. Sue had left her home in a thriving metropolitan city to move to Kenogami, a small town a mere ninety miles from Tadoussac. She adapted well, learning skiing as well as other winter activities. She also learned French well enough to lead the Girl Guides in the Lac St Jean region! She came to Tadoussac soon after arriving and embarked on the full range of activities – witness her name on the Mixed-Doubles Tennis Trophy in more than one place, her embroidery creations in the church, and the Scottish-dancing parties she hosted - not to mention numerous picnics around Tadoussac on the beaches, in the hills, and along the shores in the freighter-canoe Seven Steps. She tirelessly nursed Dennis when he took ill, enabling him to spend the last few years of his life in the relative peace and comfort of his own homes in Montreal and in Tadoussac. Dennis passed on to us all, with varying degrees of success, his love of the outdoors whether hiking, cross-country skiing, chopping wood, or fishing. He passed along to us his love of small boats, be they canoes, rowboats, motorboats, or even how to use a freighter canoe as a sailboat! And of course, he led by example in tennis and skiing. Perhaps most of all he tried to teach us to be honest, fair, hard-working, and family-oriented people. Many a time we were cajoled into doing unpleasant tasks with the words "you're not going to let your poor father do everything are you?" Dennis and Sue's children and the entire Tadoussac community remember them as good parents. George Stairs Back to ALL Bios

  • Wallace, Michael Sydney

    An award-winning sportsman and family man with a great love for Tadoussac Wallace, Michael Sydney An award-winning sportsman and family man with a great love for Tadoussac Back to ALL Bios Michael Sydney Wallace - March 21, 1927 - June 12, 2007 Michael Sydney Wallace was born in Montreal in 1927, the son of Mary(Williams) and Jack Wallace of Westmount, PQ. Michael was the youngest brother of Nan (m. Bob Leggat) and Jack (m. Mary Hawkings). Michael’s great love for Tadoussac remained with him his whole life; spending every summer and holiday with his loving family, extended family of cousins, aunts and uncles and close friends. He had wonderful memories of learning to sail, chasing whales, fishing, boating, playing golf and tennis. It remained a special place in his heart even when he was away. Growing up in Montreal, Michael spent his early years in boarding school at Bishop’s College School. He was so proud of his grandfather, Bishop Lennox Williams and his great grandfather Bishop James Williams who had a founding role in the school. The education and experience there had a lasting effect on Michael. After graduation Michael spent extra years as the ski instructor to continue his experience as a committed alumni. He excelled in all sports, playing anywhere he could. Being on the National Squash team was a proud achievement as was winning awards in tennis, rugby and hockey. His deep love of hockey carried his devotion for the Montreal Habs throughout his professional commitment to the Winnipeg Jets working with Bobby Hull and the management team of the WHA. Enjoying all aspects of the world of accounting throughout his career as a Chartered Accountant, Michael was also proud of his role as Chairman of the Board at St. John’s Ravenscourt in Winnipeg, Manitoba where all his children attended. His commitment to the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the WHA will also be remembered. Michael met Josephine Dill in 1953 and they were married a year later. Together they raised four wonderful children; Christopher (m. Katie Thompson), Derek (m. MaryAnn Lee), Sarah (m. Paul Hambleton) and Alistair (m. Corinne Schuster). They raised their family in Montreal, then Toronto and Winnipeg, ending finally in Toronto again. Michael was a wonderful husband, caring father and delighted grandfather of nine grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren. He passed at the early age of 80 to cancer in 2007, surrounded by close family. He and Josie spent 53 beautiful years together. Michael’s love of life, never-ending support, love and encouragement, along with his great sense of humour will be with us always. Sarah Wallace Photo at right Michael Wallace and Peter Turcot Photos below Lennox Williams, not sure, Sidney Williams, ?, Michael Wallace, Mary (Williams) Wallace, Bar (Hampson) Alexander Campbell, Jack Wallace, Enid (Price) Williams ~1940's Ron Alexander, Joan Williams (Ballantyne), Susan Williams (Webster), Michael Wallace ~1935 Back to ALL Bios

  • Kane, Mathieu

    Mathieu's life was cut short in action during World War 2 in Belgium Kane, Mathieu Mathieu's life was cut short in action during World War 2 in Belgium Back to ALL Bios Mathieu Kane d. 1945 Mathieu Kane, known as “Bobbins”, was the only child of Mathieu Charles Ralph Alonso Kane. Sadly, Bobbins was killed in Belgium on January 6th, 1945, while serving at an air observation post in Holland where he was attached to the Royal Canadian Artillery. Little else is known about his life here in Canada. His father, Mathieu, worked for the Price Brothers Company and was a great friend of Coosie Price. Upon his death, much of his estate was left to Coosie, but rather than simply accept it, Coosie used the money to set up what became known as the Mathieu Ralph Kane Foundation. The foundation was designed to distribute the estate in a way that contributed to causes related to the church, education, medicine, conservation, environment and heritage largely in the Saguenay and Quebec City regions. The organ in the chapel was paid for by the Kane Foundation to honour Mathieu’s son Bobbins.   Back to ALL Bios

  • Glassco, Willa (Price)

    Daughter of William Price, Willa lived a full and long life centered first in Quebec, and later in Ontario Glassco, Willa (Price) Daughter of William Price, Willa lived a full and long life centered first in Quebec, and later in Ontario Back to ALL Bios Willa Glassco 1902- 1991 Florence Blanche Willa Price, a much longed-for daughter, was born on a hot 24th of August in 1902 in her parent’s home at #575 Grand Allée in Quebec City. Her birth would have been celebrated by her older brothers Jack, Coosie, and Charlie, and her parents, Sir William and Lady Amelia Blanche (Nee Carrington-Smith). A fair-skinned red-head, Willa was as comfortable wrestling with her brothers and climbing trees as she was learning the arts of the fairer sex. She loved to dance and sing by her father’s side at the piano and there was much music in the ever-expanding family. By the time she was 4, the family was completed by Dick and her sister Jean. At only 6, a bout of Scarlet Fever left Willa quite deaf, and turned this rambunctious child timid. Summers were spent in Tadoussac where her mother had insisted Sir William turn what had been a bawdy boarding house for his Price Brothers’ managers into a family retreat. After extensive renovations, Fletcher cottage became the club house for the six Price children and their raft of cousins and friends. Governesses would be charged with organising picnics and hikes and swimming, boating, and fishing trips. Meals would be simply prepared and served to the children on the porch on the northeast side of the house with the children sleeping in bunks in the open porch above. There are names still in evidence, carved into the cedar shingles on the outside of the porch. Lady Price and her friends would play bridge, tennis, golf, go to church, have costume parties and cocktail parties. The summers were long. From May to the end of September and they would travel up on the steamer from Quebec with trunks and staff. Willa’s education in Quebec would have been in English, Victorian in tone, and with little expectation of her going to college or university. She, along with many of her peers at eighteen, was sent to England to be presented at court to King George V and Queen Mary and then enjoyed a leisurely tour of Europe and all its sites. At age 22, tragedy struck the family. Sir William, her much loved father, was killed in a landslide in Kenogami. It changed everything for her siblings and mother and Willa dedicated herself to the care of her mother. At 25, Willa met and married Grant Glassco, a promising young businessman from Winnipeg who had just begun his career as a chartered accountant, and they settled in Forest Hill in Toronto. They went on to have four children, June, Gay, Dick, and Bill with Willa insisting she return to Quebec for each pregnancy to have her care and delivery at her mother’s house. And then, like her mother before her, she brought her family every summer to Tadoussac. Tennis, golf, church, picnics, swims. After the second world war, Grant and Willa purchased a working farm near Kleinberg, just north of Toronto, and the family spent weekends there, where driving a tractor was as important a skill as any in this family. Willa was involved in her communities and church, forming long attachments to her neighbours. She was a woman who had fierce, loyal friendships that lasted her long life. These she had at the farm, in town, and in Tadoussac. Up until her last year, when in Tadoussac she would always make a point to go and have tea with her brother Coosie, her cousins, and her many childhood friends still living in the village. Her French was perfectly tuned to the familiar Tadoussac dialect. Grant and Willa had help at home, bringing Eva Drain into the family in the 1950s. Eva, an orphan, had come to Canada from London’s East End as a Bernardos baby, starting her employment at age 8 with her brother at a Montreal match factory. After serving as a maid with the Reverend Scott, she started with Willa and Grant and stayed with Willa all her life. Eva was devoted to the whole family and as grandchildren we have many memories of Eva, the devout storyteller and dog lover who was so much a part of our family. Willa beamed. Her smile was infectious and she often threw her head back laughing. She could control her brood and twenty grandchildren with a firm hand but she was more at home being the optimist with an insatiable sense of adventure. She was an avid traveller, she and Grant travelling and living in Brazil in their 40s and 50s where he had business interests. She loved the theatre and when her youngest son, Billy, a theatre director, started Tarragon Theatre in Toronto she proudly attended every performance, no matter how scandalous the plays might be. Grant contracted lung cancer and died at only 63, leaving Willa a widow for the next twenty-three years. She experienced a sort of renaissance. Released from her domestic duties she travelled to England to visit her sister, Jean and family, she spent months in Tadoussac and up at the farm. She dated a number of very charming gentlemen and spent time with friends. She would hold a yearly picnic at the farm for the Canadian Hearing society, a charity she was active in all her life. The family would be wrangled into putting on a massive spread as families of the hard of hearing would converge for an annual outdoor gathering that was the highlight of the season. Willa was always up for an adventure, for a dance, she wrote in her journal every day and recounts a life that was truly well spent. She tragically died driving back from the farm just days after her 89th birthday. She went through a stop sign. She surely had another good decade in her at least and it was a blow to everyone when she left. She was warm, loving, and attentive. Intelligent and curious. She had a very strong sense of right or wrong and believed the best in people. Though tiny in stature and frame she could hug the breath out of a grown grandson. She is missed. Briony Glassco Back to ALL Bios

  • Craig, George & Micheline (Caron)

    Frequent visitors to Tadoussac who stayed at Bayview Cottage with Lex and Mary Smith Craig, George & Micheline (Caron) Frequent visitors to Tadoussac who stayed at Bayview Cottage with Lex and Mary Smith Back to ALL Bios Micheline Caron 1910 – 1969 and George Craig 1902 – 1971 Oh song of Northern Valleys, Played upon the winds That sweep across the wilderness Of tamaracks and pines, In that sweet, wild abandon Of a dark glade midst the trees, Oh, let me drink the passion Of your spirit to the lees. There was a smile you gave me That was native to the land Of wide and tossing oceans And of silver sifting sand, It set my blood a-tingling And I felt the call of love While the northern stars kept twinkling In the Heavens far above. You may, perchance, forget me As years flit quickly by, Perhaps a fleeting memory In a pale star-scattered sky. Not so with me; forever Will I live in that warm bliss – The soft enduring fragrance Of Micheline’s sweet kiss. “Micheline on the Saguenay” by A. G. Bailey Not many people can claim to be the inspiration for a published poet’s work but Micheline Caron could. She is said to have been so beautiful that Canadian poet, Alfred G. Bailey, included the above in his first book of poems called Songs of the Saguenay. Called “Mike” by her English friends and her family, she was also a great cook, so great that her apple and blueberry pies were legendary! Her parents were Anita Dion and Joseph Eugène Caron who lived in Quebec City. Micheline’s great-grandfather, Michel, is credited with bringing the family to Tadoussac. He worked for Price Brothers Lumber at the top of the Saguenay, and for a time was mayor of Chicoutimi. He later moved to Tadoussac, still with Price Brothers, when he was promoted to “Agent de la Couronne pour la Region de Charlevoix et le Saguenay.” In this work he had responsibilities both for the forests and the fisheries. His son, Eugene Caron, (Micheline’s grandfather) was mayor of Tadoussac (1899 – 1927). Up until about 1960 there was a bridge over the gully on Rue des Pionniers leading up the hill toward our chapel. This was named Pont Caron, after Eugene. In Tadoussac, the family lived in the house that is currently the chapel rectory, and then moved to the Coté house around the corner that became the post office. This is the same building that later became the Gite called Passe-Pierre. Micheline was born in Tadoussac in July of 1910, but her family lived in Quebec City and she attended school at the Ursulines. It was in Quebec that she met her future husband, George. George Craig was born in Quebec City in 1902. His father was Thomas Craig, who was the head of the Ross Rifle Company, a very prominent supplier to the Canadian Military in the first part of the century. George attended Bishop’s College School in Lennoxville, a private boy’s boarding school, but finished at the Boys High School in Quebec City. His family was staunchly Presbyterian and it was in a Presbyterian church in Quebec City that he and Micheline were wed on June 22nd, 1935. This suggests a certain bravery on Micheline’s part. She had been brought up Roman Catholic and was told she would go to hell for marrying a Protestant! George and Micheline’s daughter, Louise, (who became known as Popsy) was born in Quebec City but then the family settled in Kenogami where George worked for H. B. Bignal Insurance. This was the company that insured the Price Brothers company, among others. They were great friends with the Prices and their son, Ian, who was born there in 1941, remembers baby-sitting Cynthia Price. He was also a very close friend of Toby Price. When the children were grown up, the family moved back to Quebec City. Both George and Micheline were very enthusiastic about fly-fishing, and very strict in their pursuit of that sport. Wet flies only, please, and, careful adherence to local regulations and quotas. They were very active members of the Onatchiway Fish and Game Club, due north of Chicoutimi, situated in land where the Price lumber company was logging. They loved Tadoussac and also fished locally in the Marguerite River and Les Bergeronnes with their children. When in Tadoussac, Micheline and George always stayed with Mary and Lex Smith who owned Bayview Cottage until the mid-1960s, which was a very busy place in those days, centrally located, with lots of people dropping in. They were very close friends and some summers the two couples would cruise from Quebec City to Tadoussac together on Lex’s powerboat, the Lady Mary. Arthur Smith, who was Lex’s “Uncle Art,” would often drop by in the evenings from where he stayed at the nearby Boulianne Hotel (situated where L’Hotel les Pionniers is today.) On one memorable occasion the Craig family were all out on Uncle Art’s boat, Empress of Tadoussac, and arrived from the Saguenay just as the CSL boat Quebec was entering the bay on fire. They were directed to head out into the river to see if anyone had jumped overboard but thankfully, only found a deckchair. When the Smiths wanted to sell Bayview, George and Micheline’s daughter and her husband (Popsy and Robert) were very tempted to buy it, but they passed on the opportunity in spite of saying that many of the family’s happiest times had been spent in Tadoussac. The cottage was subsequently bought by Dennis and Sue Stairs and has remained in the Stairs family ever since. At the age of 59, Micheline had a very sudden heart attack at her home in Quebec City. She died in her son’s arms before she could even get to the hospital. After her death, George moved to Washington for a short time to stay with daughter Popsy and her family. That worked well at first, but he missed Quebec City where he always felt more at home. He returned, but also suffered a heart attack and died in 1971, two years after he had lost Micheline. Alan Evans and Cynthia Price The center guy in the fish camp photo is George Craig. The Craig family photo is Popsy, Micheline, Ian and George Craig. Bayview Cottage Group Photo George Craig, Mrs. Atkinson (Mary Smith’s mother), ?Dunno?, Mary Smith, Lex Smith, Micheline Craig Ian Craig, Popsy Craig, Susan Smith, Mickey the dog Back to ALL Bios

  • Languedoc, Adele

    Adele had a very successful career as a librarian that led her to the National Archives of Canada Languedoc, Adele Adele had a very successful career as a librarian that led her to the National Archives of Canada Back to ALL Bios Adele de Guerry Languedoc March 1904 – December 1993 On Sunday, August 5th, 2007, the congregation of the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel laid a headstone in memory of Adele de Guerry Languedoc on the chapel grounds. Adele was born in Tadoussac in the early 1900s and summered here with her family throughout her life. Adele’s stepmother, Erie Russell Janes Languedoc, was the granddaughter of Willis Russell who, along with Colonel Rhodes, were among the first to build summer cottages at Tadoussac in the 1860s. Erie purchased the lands that later became known as Languedoc Park after she married the widower, George de Guerry Languedoc. The four original cottages in Languedoc Park were Erie's cottage and the cottages of the three Stevenson sisters who were great-granddaughters of Willis Russell. At the time of her death, she was remembered by the National Archives of Canada for her distinguished career as a librarian. Her career began with her undergraduate degree at McGill University including a library diploma and she received a Bachelor of Library Service from Columbia University in 1946. Adele served for five years with the American Relief for France during the Second World War and her efforts helped to restore the regional libraries that had been so damaged during the war. She also set up the first children’s library that existed outside Paris. On her return to Canada, she was hired as an ‘Accessions Librarian’ at the Canadian Bibliographic Centre which was later named the Library and Archives of Canada. She helped to build our now-famous collection of Canadian literature and documents. She was named Assistant National Librarian in 1964. Through her work in Ottawa, she was asked to represent Canada as a member of the UNESCO seminar on libraries and served as a consultant in Africa. The National Library News wrote of her at the time of her death “To all her work, she brought a broad, deep knowledge and experience of Canada’s French and English tradition.” Adele is remembered by her friends in Tadoussac as a friendly, smiling member of the community sitting on her porch at her cottage in Languedoc Park. Few realized what important work she had done at the National and International levels. She was a neighbour and a friend. Adele was born in Tadoussac in the early 1900s and summered here with her family throughout her life. Adele’s step-mother, Erie Russell Janes Languedoc, was the granddaughter of Willis Russell who, along with Colonel Rhodes, were among the first to build summer cottages at Tadoussac in the 1860s. Erie purchased the lands that later became known as Languedoc Park after she married the widower, George de Guerry Languedoc. The four original cottages in Languedoc Park were Erie's cottage and the cottages of the three Stevenson sisters who were great granddaughters of Willis Russell. At the time of her death, she was remembered by the National Archives of Canada for her distinguished career as a librarian. Her career began with her undergraduate degree at McGill University including a library diploma and she received a Bachelor of Library Service from Columbia University in 1946. Adele served for five years with the American Relief for France during the Second World War and her efforts helped to restore the regional libraries that had been so damaged during the war. She also set up the first children’s library that existed outside Paris. On her return to Canada she was hired as ‘accessions librarian’ at the Canadian Bibliographic Centre which was later named the Library and Archives of Canada. She helped to build our now famous collection of Canadian literature and documents. She was named Assistant National Librarian in 1964. Through her work in Ottawa she was asked to represent Canada as a member of the UNESCO seminar on libraries and served as a consultant in Africa. The National Library News wrote of her at the time of her death “To all her work, she brought a broad, deep knowledge and experience of Canada’s French and English tradition." She is remembered by her friends in Tadoussac as a friendly, smiling member of the community sitting on her porch at her cottage in Languedoc Park. Few realised what important work she had done at the National and International level. She was a neighbour and a friend. Back to ALL Bios

  • Ballantyne, Tim

    A tireless volunteer, Tim was devoted to his family and to Tadoussac Ballantyne, Tim A tireless volunteer, Tim was devoted to his family and to Tadoussac Back to ALL Bios Charles Colquhoun Ballantyne (“Tim”) Mar. 19,1931 to Feb. 6, 2005 Tim was born in Montreal to Charles T. Ballantyne and Rosalie J. Ballantyne. He was educated at Lower Canada College in Montreal and Bishop’s College School in Lennoxville. Tim attended university in Switzerland and at McGill in Montreal. Tim’s time in Tadoussac began in 1958 when he married Joan Williams whose family had summered in Tad for generations. Prior to meeting Joan, Tim was a loyal St. Andrew’s, New Brunswick, summer resident. As is no surprise to anyone, Tim was easily persuaded to spend his summer holidays in Tadoussac, and he joined Joan and their subsequent three children, Evan, Timothy, and Belle for a two-week vacation each year. Tim and the family enjoyed the ease and splendor of several summer homes in Tadoussac including The Barn, Tudor-Hart House, and Brynhyfryd. Tim, Joan and their children lived in Montreal, Canada until 1967. They moved to Scarsdale, New York, when Tim received a job transfer with Consolidated Bathurst Paper Company. Tim was a dedicated volunteer in his home community; he served for many years as the Captain of Scarsdale’s Volunteer Fire Company; he was a vestryman and eucharistic minister at the Church of St. James the Less. He coached school sports, was a troop leader for Boy Scouts, and taught Sunday school. When Tim chose to relax a bit, it was usually accompanied by something most people would find most unappealing, a WARM beer! Tim had an inviting and dazzling smile. He relished a keen wit, touched with sarcasm. Tim loved Tadoussac’s waters. For him, lake swims, a snorkel in the Saguenay, or a quick dip off Moulin Baude were all annual summer activities. The frigid temperatures never fazed him. When on land, Tim served the summertime population as Vice President of the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel. Tim was an avid reader who was especially drawn to historical works. When Tim became infirm, he could still be found in a cozy wicker chair or sunning himself outdoors accompanied by a book. Tim was often interrupted in his learned pursuits by his seven grandchildren romping about Brynhyfryd. Heather, William, Megan, David, Lauren, Timothy, and Trevor effortlessly caused Tim’s focus to waver! Tim is missed by his family and friends. Back to ALL Bios

  • Rhodes, Lily Bell

    Artist, and lover of all things natural (including children!), Lily Bell was loved by everyone Rhodes, Lily Bell Artist, and lover of all things natural (including children!), Lily Bell was loved by everyone Back to ALL Bios Lily Bell Rhodes 1889 - 1975 “Quick! Get a jar. Take it to Lily Bell!” With those words, an oddly attractive, but rare insect would (to its astonishment) find itself trapped behind glass and on its way to being sketched by Lily Bell, an avid artist and lover of all things natural. And whatever that bug looked like she would kindly turn it loose when she was done. The daughter of Francis Rhodes (fourth son of Col. Rhodes and Anne Dunn) and Totie LeMoine, her maternal grandparents lived at the LeMoine family home, Spencer Grange, in Quebec City, which became the Lieutenant-Governor’s residence, and was later sold privately. Lily Bell would have been brought up at Bagatelle, which became a Canadian Heritage property and museum. Lily Bell had a sister Frances and two other sisters who died in infancy. One of those, Anne, died before she was born but the other, Gertrude, was born when Lily Bell was seven years old. She was distraught when that child died, and whether that contributed to her nervousness as a young girl can only be speculated upon at this point. Neither Frances nor Lily Bell ever married. Lily Bell was always very good at sketching and devoted a great deal of her time to developing her artistic skills. Her maternal grandfather was the Canadian author, historian, and past President of The Royal Society of Canada, Sir James McPherson Le Moine (1825-1912). Lily Bell studied art at Les Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Quebec City under Henry Ivan Neilson (Professor of Painting, Drawing, and Anatomy), as well as with instructor and noted Canadian artist Jean-Paul Lemieux. It was said: “Although Miss Rhodes painted for her own enjoyment and is not a listed artist, her competency of composition, perspective, and palette … underscores an undeniable and elevated degree of ability.” But in Tadoussac, she was remembered for being very soft-spoken and sweet. She adored children and would take her young nieces on walks in the woods, telling them the names of all the flowers and mushrooms they could find, and firing their imaginations by insisting there were fairies dancing under each of them. Not surprisingly she was a great gardener along with her sister, Frances, and loved animals, particularly dogs which she used to sketch often. She even had a favourite white sweater made from the fur of a long-haired dachshund she used to own. She would often be seen sitting very still on a log or rock under a shapeless sunhat quietly sketching some composition that had caught her eye. Many of these sketches became very small paintings that were often given to her many cousins in Tadoussac. In the summers she usually stayed with her aunt and uncle, Lennox and Nan Williams, for a week or so, and then after they died, she was made welcome in the home of her friend, Grace Scott. Looking back now, one can only imagine there was a depth to her that few of us knew. What we remember is her loving kindness and her reverence for nature. And some of us are still trying to collect her delightful paintings when they come available. Photos above Monica Rhodes with Lily Gertrude Rhodes with Lily Photos below Painting of Tadoussac by Lily 1930's Gertrude (Williams) Alexander, Lilybell Rhodes, Jean (Alexander) and John Aylan-Parker, Joan (Williams) Ballantyne, Nan (Wallace) Leggat, Mary (Williams) Wallace, Lennox Williams Back to ALL Bios

  • Evans, Lewis and Betty (Morewood)

    Both descended from Tadoussac families, Lewis and Betty wanted to be nowhere else in the summertime Evans, Lewis and Betty (Morewood) Both descended from Tadoussac families, Lewis and Betty wanted to be nowhere else in the summertime Back to ALL Bios Robert Lewis Evans 1911-1988 & Elizabeth Anne (Morewood) Evans 1922-1993 In 1911, Emily Elizabeth (Bethune) Evans, at age forty-six, gave birth to her only child, Robert Lewis Evans. Her husband, the Very Reverend (Dean) Thomas Frye Lewis Evans, was sixty-seven, father of five adult children and grandfather of two young ones. In 1922, Caroline Annie (Rhodes) Morewood, at age forty-two, gave birth to her second child, Elizabeth Anne (Betty) Morewood. Her husband was her first cousin, Francis Edmund Morewood, who was five years her junior. They already had a son, William Harold Morewood. In the summer of 1944, at the Coupe in Tadoussac, thirty-three-year-old Lewis asked twenty-one-year-old Betty to marry him. She said yes, and their lives came together in December of that year. Until the Dean died in 1920, the Evans family had spent their winters in Montreal and every summer in their house in Tadoussac, which at that time was the farthest east of the Price Brothers houses and would later be sold to the Beatties. After his death, however, mother and son moved to Toronto for the winters but still got to Tadoussac each year. Emily sent Lewis to Trinity College School – a boys’ boarding school in Port Hope, Ontario. Lewis liked the school and had positive memories of it. This is remarkable because, on a personal level, these were difficult years. At the age of fourteen, he was hit by a severe case of alopecia, an autoimmune disorder whereby one’s hair falls out, and over the next year or so, he lost all his hair. Between graduating from TCS and starting at Trinity College in Toronto, Lewis was taken on a European tour by his mother. They travelled extensively and visited many specialists in an effort to reverse the effects of alopecia. It was after this tour that Lewis chose to wear a wig, a decision he frequently regretted especially in the heat of the summer. Meanwhile, Betty, one of Col. William Rhodes’s many great-grandchildren, was growing up in Doylestown, Pennsylvania. She attended the Baldwin School for girls and subsequently Bryn Mawr and the University of Pennsylvania. Her family would spend time in Tadoussac most summers, renting rooms in Catelier House (now the Maison du Tourisme). In 1936, her father designed and built a house, now called Windward. From then on, she never missed a summer in Tadoussac. In 1948, Frank and Carrie Morewood sold Windward to Betty and Lewis for $1, and suddenly, Lewis, whose mother had died the year before, found himself with two cottages in Tadoussac. He chose to keep Windward, partly because it was newer, partly because it was politic, partly because of its view, but especially because he could see his boat at its buoy in the bay! At university, Lewis had studied English, graduating in 1933, and Betty had majored in business, graduating in 1944. Lewis followed through on his plan to be a teacher and started his career in 1934 at Bishop’s College School from which he retired in 1972. Any career plans Betty had upon graduation were trumped by her summer engagement and winter wedding... and in the fullness of time, by the arrival of Anne, Lewis, Tom, and Alan. She was of the generation when women were mothers and homemakers, and to these functions, Betty added the role of steadfast supporter of all that her husband did, and BCS benefitted from her unpaid and often unknown contribution. For the first eighteen years of their marriage, Lewis was a Housemaster. Betty knew all the boys and welcomed them into her home as a matter of course. Every teacher new to BCS was invited to Sunday dinner, and she frequently found herself hosting parties for faculty and friends. She has been called a world-class knitter and a world-class worrier (especially about her children no matter how old they were). Meanwhile, Lewis was completely immersed in the life of the school – teaching, coaching, directing plays, and running his residences. He was one of the pioneers of ski racing in the Eastern Townships and spent many hours freezing at the bottom of a hill, clipboard in one hand and stopwatch in the other. He was an example of service and character. When he died, one Old Boy remembered him as “an oasis of calm in an otherwise harsh and demanding school.” Indeed, he was. But his contributions went beyond BCS. From the mid-50s until his retirement in 1972, he spearheaded the Lennoxville Players, directing many plays from British farces to Broadway musicals. This was a group of amateur “actors” from all levels of the community who were, like their leader, looking for an enjoyable night out ... and all proceeds to go to a local charity. In 1972, Betty and Lewis retired to Brockville, Ontario. Here, they joined Tadoussac friends, Ray and Coosie Price and Jean and Guy Smith. From there, they travelled to Tadoussac – for many years by boat. An accomplished sailor, Lewis knew every cove and anchorage on the Saguenay, learned from his own experience, but even more, from local captains whom he respected and adored, and, it would seem, who held him in equal esteem. Over the years, his passion for boats gave way to his passion for fishing. There were many overnight trips up the Saguenay, often to the Marguerite, to fish the falling tide, then the rising, then up early to start again. One can still see him standing in hip-waders off the point above the crib, rod in hand, pipe upside down against the drizzle, as dawn was lighting the sky. Betty and Lewis were practising Christians, and while their church in Lennoxville tended to be the BCS Chapel, the one that they were most committed to was the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel. Betty’s great-grandfather had been instrumental in its creation, and Lewis’s father, the Dean, had, for decades, been the summer priest. In 1972, Betty undertook to organise several summer residents to needlepoint the altar kneeler cushions with images of local wildflowers designed by her close friend Barbara Campbell, and for many years, Lewis served as the secretary on the church committee executive. And then there was golf, which Betty loved, and Lewis tolerated, and bridge, which… Betty lovedloved, and Lewis tolerated. For all their lives, home was where the family was, but Tadoussac was where the family was at home. Their love for Tadoussac is best articulated in Lewis’s memoir, Tides of Tadoussac, which included the Rudyard Kipling quotation: “God gave all men all earth to love But since our hearts are small, Ordained for each one place should prove Beloved overall.” His fascination with the history of the place was likewise revealed in his fictional book Privateers and Traders. Theirs was a great love, a love of each other, a love of family and friends, a love of people and community, and a love of place, and that love of place, of that place, of Tadoussac, has been inherited by each of their four children and by each of their families. William Lewis Evans Back to ALL Bios

  • Radford, Joseph & Isabella (White)

    The first English-speaking full-time resident of Tadoussac and a prominent citizen. Radford, Joseph & Isabella (White) The first English-speaking full-time resident of Tadoussac and a prominent citizen. Back to ALL Bios Joseph Radford 1815 – 1885 & Isabella (White) 1817-1902 (version française à suivre) Joseph Radford came to Tadoussac in the 1840s, it is believed from England, and lived in Tadoussac for most of his life with his wife, Isabella White, and his daughter. They are believed to be the only anglophone full-time residents of the town at that time. Joseph Radford was a prominent citizen in the early days of the town of Tadoussac and had many different jobs. He originally came to work in the Price Sawmill in Anse à l’Eau, but in 1848 William Price closed the mill, and Radford became the manager, in a caretaker role, to occasionally operate the mill when enough wood was harvested. In 1874 the old mill was ceded to the Federal Ministry of Marine Fisheries for $1, and Radford directed the renovation of the old building for its new role, as a fish hatchery, which he managed for the next eleven years. In 1878, surviving documents show that he was paid $400 for “conducting a fish breeding establishment,” and the hatchery raised and released up to a million small salmon a year in the area’s rivers. Mr. Radford was the last Factor of the Hudson’s Bay Post, which was located in front of the Hotel Tadoussac until it was demolished in about 1870. He was also listed as Tadoussac’s Postmaster, Protection Officer, and Customs Agent, and apparently served as the Swedish and Norwegian Vice-Consul. It is uncertain what that job entailed! When the group of summer residents, Rhodes, Russell, and Urquhart got together to form a company to build the first Tadoussac Hotel in 1864, Joseph Radford was a member of the group. He is also listed as one of the founders of the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel in 1866. It was in 1863 that he bought the land opposite the Hotel Georges from David Price, and demolished the house that was there to build a magnificent white house overlooking the old salmon pool and the cove. Early photos of Anse à l’Eau feature two imposing buildings above the wharf and mill, the Hotel Georges (then a residence) and the Radford House. In 1873 there was excitement in Tadoussac. Lord Dufferin was coming to build a house and become a summer resident. Joseph Radford had been a town councillor and by this time was the Mayor of Tadoussac, although the town had not yet been incorporated so he is not listed as the first mayor officially. However, he and the other prominent people in town at the time wrote a flowery letter of welcome, in which they explained that they could not possibly afford to provide a welcoming reception, being such a small community, but “hope that we may have the pleasure during many future seasons of seeing your Excellencies and your amiable family at our beautiful little seaside village.” Joseph Radford died in Tadoussac in 1885 at the age of seventy, and his family continued to live in the house for many years. His unmarried daughter, Belle, inherited the house and lived there until she was too old to manage it, whereupon she sold it to Lady Price in 1918. Belle went to live in Montreal but continued to spend her summers in Tadoussac, staying at the Hotel Georges across the street, then known as the Desmeules Boarding House. Ainslie Stephen remembered going with her mother, Dorothy Evans, to visit Belle in the years before her death in 1935. The Radford House was used to put up overflow guests from Lady Price’s cottage, which was Fletcher Cottage by then, and as these guests were mainly relatives and friends of her son, young men home from the First World War, it became known as the “bachelor house”. It was destroyed by fire during a strong northwest storm in the winter of 1932. Tom & Alan Evans Joseph Radford 1815-1885 et Isabella (White) 1817-1902 Joseph Radford est arrivé à Tadoussac dans les années 1840, probablement en provenance d'Angleterre, et a vécu à Tadoussac pendant la majeure partie de sa vie avec sa femme, Isabella White, et sa fille. On croit qu'ils étaient les seuls anglophones résidents à temps plein de la ville à cette époque. Joseph Radford était un citoyen éminent des débuts de la ville de Tadoussac et occupait de nombreux emplois différents. À l'origine, il travaillait à la scierie Price à Anse à l'Eau, mais en 1848, William Price a fermé la scierie et Radford en est devenu le gérant, dans un rôle de gardien, pour faire fonctionner occasionnellement la scierie lorsque suffisamment de bois était récolté. En 1874, l'ancien moulin a été cédé au ministère fédéral des pêches maritimes pour 1 $, et Radford a dirigé la rénovation de l'ancien bâtiment pour son nouveau rôle, en tant qu'écloserie de poissons, qu'il a dirigé pendant les onze années suivantes. En 1878, des documents conservés montrent qu'il a été payé 400 $ pour « diriger un établissement d'élevage de poissons », et l'écloserie a élevé et relâché jusqu'à un million de petits saumons par année dans les rivières de la région. M. Radford était le dernier facteur du poste de la Baie d'Hudson, qui était situé en face de l'hôtel Tadoussac jusqu'à sa démolition vers 1870. Il était également répertorié comme maître de poste, agent de protection et agent des douanes de Tadoussac, et aurait apparemment servi comme vice-consul de Suède et de Norvège. On ne sait pas exactement en quoi consistait ce travail ! Lorsque le groupe de résidents estivaux, Rhodes, Russell et Urquhart, se sont réunis pour former une entreprise afin de construire le premier hôtel de Tadoussac en 1864, Joseph Radford était membre du groupe. Il est également cité comme l'un des fondateurs de la chapelle protestante de Tadoussac en 1866. C'est en 1863 qu'il a acheté le terrain de David Price en face de l'Hôtel Georges et qu'il a démoli la maison qui s'y trouvait pour construire une magnifique maison blanche surplombant l'ancien bassin à saumon et l'anse. Les premières photos de l’Anse à l’Eau montrent deux édifices imposants au-dessus du quai et du moulin, l’Hôtel Georges (alors une résidence) et la Maison Radford. En 1873, l'effervescence règne à Tadoussac. Lord Dufferin venait bâtir une maison et devenir résident d'été. Joseph Radford avait été conseiller municipal et était à cette époque maire de Tadoussac, bien que la ville n'ait pas encore été constituée en société et qu'il ne soit donc pas officiellement répertorié comme le premier maire. Cependant, lui et d’autres personnalités de la ville de l’époque ont écrit une lettre de bienvenue fleurie, dans laquelle ils expliquaient qu’ils ne pouvaient pas se permettre d’offrir un accueil chaleureux, étant donné la petite taille de la communauté, mais « espèrent que nous aurons le plaisir, au cours de nombreuses saisons futures, de revoir Vos Excellences et votre aimable famille dans notre magnifique petit village balnéaire ». Joseph Radford est décédé à Tadoussac en 1885 à l'âge de soixante-dix ans, et sa famille a continué d'habiter la maison pendant de nombreuses années. Sa fille célibataire, Belle, a hérité de la maison et y a vécu jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit trop vieille pour la gérer, après quoi elle l'a vendue à Lady Price en 1918. Belle est allée vivre à Montréal, mais a continué à passer ses étés à Tadoussac, logeant à l'Hôtel Georges de l'autre côté de la rue, alors connu sous le nom de Maison de pension Desmeules. Ainslie Stephen se rappelle être allée avec sa mère, Dorothy Evans, rendre visite à Belle dans les années précédant sa mort en 1935. La Radford House était utilisée pour héberger les invités en trop du chalet de Lady Price, qui était alors Fletcher Cottage, et comme ces invités étaient principalement des parents et des amis de son fils, des jeunes hommes revenus de la Première Guerre mondiale, elle est devenue connue sous le nom de « maison de baccalauréat ». Il a été détruit par un feu lors d'une grosse tempête du nord-ouest durant l'hiver 1932. Tom et Alan Evans Back to ALL Bios

  • Rhodes, Monica

    Granddaughter of William and Anne Rhodes, Monica worked in the church and was a frequent visitor to Tadoussac Rhodes, Monica Granddaughter of William and Anne Rhodes, Monica worked in the church and was a frequent visitor to Tadoussac Back to ALL Bios Monica Rhodes 1904-1985 Monica Rhodes was born in 1904, in Sillery, Quebec. Her father was Armitage Rhodes (born in 1848) and her mother was Katie von Iffland of Sillery, Quebec, the daughter of Reverend von Iffland and the second wife of Armitage Rhodes. She was the sister of Armitage (Peter) Rhodes and half-sister of Dorothy Rhodes and Charlie Rhodes. Monica’s father, Armitage, died in 1909 and a couple of years later her mother took her young family to England. She lived first in Caterham, Surrey, where she attended Eothen School, along with Imogen Holst, daughter of the musician and composer Gustav Holst. After the end of the First World War, her family moved to St Marychurch, Devon, and finally, after her younger sister’s marriage, to Chiddingfold, Surrey. After her mother died in 1938, Monica studied at St Christopher’s College, Blackheath to be able to work for the Anglican Church in Canada. She served as a Bishop’s Messenger in Manitoba. She was deeply religious and after she retired, she moved to the Town of Mount Royal where she was a member of St. Peter’s Anglican Church. Monica often stayed with her sister Dorothy, Grace Scott, and at Boulianne’s Hotel during the summer in Tadoussac. Monica is interred in the Rhodes family plot at Mount Hermon Cemetery in Sillery, Quebec.   Photo above Dorothy Rhodes (Evans) and Monica 1906 Photos below Monica with father Armitage 1907 Monica with parents Back to ALL Bios

Merci! Thank you for your feedback!

bottom of page